Eleven young researchers go to the meetings of Nobel laureates in Lindau

March 24, 2022

The six SIEF-AAS 2022 scholars (top) and the five SIEF-AAS 2020 scholars (bottom) attending the 71st annual Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting.

Eleven young early-career Australian researchers will attend the prestigious Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings in Lindau, Germany, including six newly nominated by the Australian Academy of Sciences and five participants who attended the 70th meeting virtually in 2021.

The 71st annual Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings, dedicated to chemistry, will be held from June 26 to July 1 and will bring together around 30 Nobel Laureates and around 600 young scientists from around the world.

Attendance at the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings is proudly supported by the Science and Industry Endowment Fund (SIEF) and administered by the Australian Academy of Sciences (AAS).

The six doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers selected in 2022 to attend these meetings as SIEF-AAS fellows are:

  • Dr Amandeep Kaur – researching fluorescent sensors for super-resolution imaging applications at the University of Sydney, and also a recipient of the prestigious JG Russell Award.
  • Dr. Neil Robinson – researching porous materials for energy applications at the University of Western Australia, and will begin a Forrest Foundation Research Fellowship from May 2022.
  • Ms Sanjana Prasad – currently studying nanochemistry and sensor technology at RMIT University.
  • Mr Piyush Sharda – a PhD candidate at the Australian National University specializing in astronomy, with a particular focus on the astrochemistry of the early universe and the chemical evolution of galaxies.
  • Mr Matthias Wurdack – researching strong light-matter coupling and exciton-polaritons in atomically thin semiconductors at the Australian National University, and also a recipient of the AIP NSW Award for Postdoctoral Excellence in Physics 2020 and the John Carver Award 2020.
  • Miss Diana Zhang – a 2021 Fulbright Fellow specializing in Analytical Chemistry from the University of New South Wales, currently working at Boston University to develop an advanced machine learning method that can diagnose Parkinson’s disease from a “ chemical fingerprint.

Lindau SIEF-AAS Fellows will receive a grant to enable them to attend the event and take part in the SIEF Research Innovation Tour in Germany, led by Academy Professor Emeritus Cheryl Praeger and Professor Emeritus Hans Bachor.

The tour will showcase some of Germany’s best research and development facilities, while providing opportunities to share research performed by young scientists and encourage scientific collaboration between the two countries.

Five of the SIEF-AAS Fellows who attended the 70th Chemistry Meetings virtually have also been invited to participate in person and will travel with this year’s selected cohort to Lindau:

  • Dr Nicole Foster – previously appointed by the University of Adelaide, she now works at Flinders University on environmental DNA.
  • Dr Emily Kerr – an NHMRC Early Career Fellow from Deakin University, and also the recipient of the VESKI Fellowship to undertake a 10-week research visit to France to attend a conference in Spain, followed by a short research visit in Italy, before going to Lindau.
  • Dr Wenyue Zou – a STEM superstar working as an applied chemistry researcher at RMIT University.
  • Dr Adam Sutton – previously appointed by the University of South Australia, he is now in the US researching green analytical chemistry.
  • Dr. Lukas Michalek – previously appointed by Queensland University of Technology, he is currently at Stanford University studying polymeric materials in emerging flexible electronics, from the molecular scale to applications.

Their 70s cohortand Meetings in other areas are welcome to attend future Lindau meetings.

Comments are closed.